ABOUT



          

          Andreas Dombert plays Scharpach Opus 108

Please visit www.scharpach.com


“Genius, Drama and Affectionate Sensuality”


In the last years Regensburg guitarist Andreas Dombert has performed with world-class stars such as Pat Martino, Larry Coryell, Philip Catherine, Ulf Wakenius or Airto Moreira. Together with his formation “Night of Jazz Guitars” he had performances at first-class international festivals. As the leader of his band “Dombert’s Urban Jazz” he experimented with electronic influences, developed and refined his very own sound aesthetics and was awarded the Cultural Prize of Oberpfalz in 2014. He gave his debut in a trio with “35”, released by ENJA in 2016, and was nominated for the ECHO JAZZ in the category guitar.

It is his latest passion which definitely shows that Andres Dombert is among the most innovative and influential voices of the German guitar scene: Minimal Music for solo guitar, which he has dedicated his time to since 2017. With his own artistic compositions he creates magical sound spheres by musical processes which change extremely slowly, providing his audience with the completely new feeling of an “overabundance” of time. The corresponding CD will be released by ENJA in November 2018.

Born in Straubing in 1979, Andreas Dombert began his musical training with classical piano. Later he studied jazz guitar at “Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg-Augsburg” under Helmut Kagerer and Paulo Morello. From 2002 to 2004 he was a member of „Bundesjugendjazzorchester“ conducted by Peter Herbolzheimer. He completed his training with a study visit in New York.

As a jazz guitarist Andreas Dombert is mainly known for his musical language, which is characterized by some warm melancholy and an infallible intuition for intense melodies. Yet he is active in the field of pop as well. As a studio musician and a live guitarist he has given hundreds and hundreds of concerts, has had chart successes and dozens of television appearances with different acts. Moreover, he showed his stylistic range as a member of the jazz-metal combo “Panzerballett” when recording the album “Starke Stücke”, released by ACT in 2008. His band “Dombert’s Urban Jazz”  explored the boundaries of this genre – with a mixture of analog sounds, electronics and video art. The debut of “Urban Jazz” was released in the series “Jazz Thing – Next Generation”. Their following album “16/8” was praised as “one of the most exciting albums of the year” by “Süddeutsche Zeitung” in 2013. One year later Dombert’s album “Duo” with pianist Chris Gall was described in the same way by that same SZ critic. Dombert attracted international attention especially with his two releases of “Night of Jazz Guitars” (with Larry Coryell in 2011 and Pat Martino in 2016). The well-known New York guitar critic Bill Milkowski wrote about him, “Dombert does make a strong impression on this six-string extravaganza” and “Guitar aficionados take note: this is six-string work of the highest order”.


Genius, Drama and Affectionate Sensuality” (german newspaper)

An exceptionel guitar player“ (german radio station)

„A strong cat“ (Ulf Wakenius)

“The future of European Jazz Guitar” (Larry Coryell)

“Andreas plays magnificent” (Pat Martino)

ABOUT



          

          Andreas Dombert spielt eine Scharpach

          Opus 108 - www.scharpach.com

"Genie, Drama und liebevolle Sinnlichkeit"*

Der Regensburger Gitarrist Andreas Dombert arbeitete in den vergangenen Jahren mit Weltstars wie Pat Martino, Larry Coryell, Philip Catherine, Ulf Wakenius oder Airto Moreira. Mit seiner Formation „Night of Jazz Guitars“ trat er bei hochkarätigen internationalen Festivals auf, als Kopf der Band „Dombert´s Urban Jazz“ experimentierte er mit Elektronik-Einflüssen, feilte an seiner ganz eigenen Klangästhetik und erhielt 2014 den Kulturpreis der Oberpfalz. Sein Trio-Debüt 35 erschien 2016 bei ENJA und wurde in der Kategorie Gitarre national für den ECHO JAZZ nominiert. 

Dass Andreas Dombert zu den innovativsten und stärksten Stimmen der deutschen Gitarrenszene zählt, zeigt auch seine neueste Leidenschaft, der er sich seit 2017 widmet: Minimal Music für Gitarre solo. In kunstvollen Eigenkompositionen kreiert er zauberhafte Klanglandschaften durch musikalische Prozesse, die sich extrem langsam verändern. Das beschert den Zuhörern ein neuartiges Gefühl: ein „Überangebot“ an Zeit. Die dazu aufgenommene CD wird im November 2018 bei ENJA erscheinen.

Andreas Dombert, geboren 1979 in Straubing, begann seine musikalische Ausbildung mit klassischem Klavier. Später studierte er Jazzgitarre an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg-Augsburg bei Helmut Kagerer und Paulo Morello. Von 2002 bis 2004 war er Mitglied des Bundesjugendjazzorchesters unter der Leitung von Peter Herbolzheimer. Mit einem Studienaufenthalt in New York komplettierte er seine Ausbildung.

Als Jazzgitarrist ist Andreas Dombert vor allem bekannt für eine Klangsprache, die geprägt ist von warmer Melancholie und einem untrüglichen Gespür für starke Melodien. Aber auch im Popbereich ist er aktiv. Als Studiomusiker und Live-Gitarrist bringt er es auf viele Hundert Konzerte, Charterfolge und dutzende Fernsehauftritte mit verschiedenen Acts. Seine stilistische Bandbreite zeigte er auch als Mitglied der Jazz-Metal-Combo Panzerballett", bei der er das Album Starke Stücke" mit einspielte, das 2008 bei ACT erschienen ist. Seine Band „Dombert’s Urban Jazz“ lotete die Grenzen des Genres aus – mit einem Mix aus analogen Sounds, Elektronik und Videokunst. Das „Urban Jazz“-Debüt erschien in der Reihe „Jazzthing - Next Generation“. Den Nachfolger „16/8“ lobte die „Süddeutsche Zeitung“ 2013 als „eines der spannendsten Alben des Jahres“. Ein Prädikat, das derselbe SZ-Kritiker ein Jahr später erneut einem Dombert-Album verlieh: „Duo“ mit dem Pianisten Chris Gall. Internationale Aufmerksamkeit erregte Dombert dann vor allem durch seine zwei Night Of Jazz Guitars"-Veröffentlichungen (2011 mit Larry Coryell und 2016 mit Pat Martino). Der bekannte New Yorker Gitarrenkritiker Bill Milkowski schrieb über ihn: Dombert does make a strong impression on this six-string extravaganza" und Guitar aficionados take note: this is six-string work of the highest order".


"Genie, Drama und liebevolle Sinnlichkeit" (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

"Ein außergewöhlicher Gitarrist" (Saarländischer Rundfunk)

„A strong cat“ (Ulf Wakenius)

„The future of European Jazz Guitar“ (Larry Coryell)

„Andreas plays magnificent“ (Pat Martino)


*aus: Süddeutsche Zeitung, 04.11.2016